Lockracks review.

Show off your rigged kayak or tell us what you think of your new gear
scatter
Frother
Kayak: Stealth Pro Fisha 475

Lockracks review.

Post by scatter » Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:15 pm

There's been a bit of discussion about these here but no actual review that I can remember so I thought I'd chuck one up. I've had mine now for a few months and probably done about 10 trips. I should say from the start that I have no commercial interest in the product or in the business of the distributor.I like to go for a paddle before work a few times a week. As I need to be in at my desk by 8:20am time is of the essence. Once there (I'm a high school teacher) I need the yak to be secure on the roof in front of the school.

Lockracks work by holding your yak on each side with a rubber-covered arm which locks into the base. The arm has a row of holes along one side that allow the mechanism to lock in. The base has a tapered pin (think the tongue of the lock on your front door) that allows the arm to move inward but not outward. A plastic key retracts this pin for removing the arm. The arms have a single hole on them on an adjacent face which locks them in the fully-in position when turned side-on:

By counting how many holes remain visible on each side it's easy to make sure the yak is centred and perfectly stright:

The rubber that covers the arm and the top of the base is quite soft and pliable so that the yak, while held securely, is protected. By placing the racks either side of the widest part of your yak, it can move neither forward nor back.

I wanted a solution that let me get the yak on and off the roof quickly and protected against theft. Lockracks do this very well. I'm not saying they're theft-proof but a prospective thief would have to work very hard to get the yak off, making a good amount of noise and probably damaging the yak in the process which would defeat the purpose of stealing it.